2013 Set for Induction Ceremony May 2
Published: March 15, 2013

    Tickets On Sale Now For Fans, Corporate Entities To Be A Part of Elegant, Historical Night To Honor Four at Speed Dome in the IMHOF in Talladega, AL

    The International Motorsports Hall of Fame, which features an incredible array of classic racing automobiles and historical, exclusive motorsports memorabilia, is excited to offer companies and fans the opportunity to be a part of 2013 Induction Ceremony, set for Thursday, May 2.

    The Class of 2013 includes: eight-time NASCAR champion crew chief Dale Inman, 1989 NASCAR Champion driver Rusty Wallace, along with champion team owners’ Rick Hendrick (NASCAR) and Don Schumacher (NHRA), both who have won multiple championships.

    “We are very excited to have Dale, Rusty, Rick and Don as the 2013 Motorsports Hall of Fame inductees. All four of these men have accomplished a great deal in motorsports – setting the bar in many areas – and truly deserve recognition for all that they have done,” said IMHOF Executive Director Russell Branham. “We have opportunities for fans to be a part of the evening, as well as both corporate entities.”

    Tickets are on sale now for the 2013 International Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony, which will include a reception, banquet and awards ceremony. The coat & tie event will take place in the SPEED Dome at the Hall.

    Individual tickets are $125, while a table for eight may be purchased for $1,000 by calling 256-315-4725. VISA, MasterCard and Discover are accepted.

    Corporate packages are also available and include options for tables, advertisement in the commemorative induction ceremony program as well as signage that will be displayed in the Hall of Fame for the next year. For sponsorship sales and information, call 256-315-4566.

    For additional information on the International Motorsports Hall of Fame call 256-362-5002.

    This year’s legendary quartet will be inducted into the IMHOF, located just outside Talladega Superspeedway. Honoring its first class in 1990, the International Motorsports Hall of Fame has enshrined more than 100 inductees from all forms of racing. Let’s learn more about the 2013 class:


Dale Inman retired in 1998 as a NASCAR Grand National/Winston Cup crew chief. He is best known for being the crew chief of Richard Petty for three decades. Together they won 193 races, 129 poles and seven championships in 1964, 1967, 1971, 1972, 1974, 1975, and 1979. Inman was also crew chief for Terry Labonte when they won the 1984 championship. His contributions to racing led him to receiving the North Carolina Auto Racing Hall of Fame’s first Golden Wrench award in 2000. In 2008, he helped unveil the first artifact at the NASCAR Hall of Fame – the Plymouth Belvedere that Petty drove to 27 wins in 1967.


Rusty Wallace retired from NASCAR at the end of 2005 with a stellar resume. Wallace won the 1979 United States Auto Club Stock Car Rookie of the Year award, the American Speed Association championship in 1983 and the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series championship in 1989. Wallace was also named one of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers for his 55 career wins. In 2005 NASCAR Illustrated named him Person of the Year. Wallace is currently a broadcaster on ESPN’s NASCAR coverage.


Rick Hendrick is current owner of the NASCAR team Hendrick Motorsports, founder of the Hendrick Automotive Group and Hendrick Marrow Program. In the late 1970s, he founded a drag-boat racing team that won three consecutive national championships. Throughout his career as a team owner, Hendrick has won 14 NASCAR Championships including: 10 Sprint Cup Series, one Nationwide Series and three Camping World Truck Series. After Jimmie Johnson’s season-opening win in the Daytona 500 in February, he has 210 triumphs in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series. In December of 2009, Betty Jane France presented the Bill France Award of Excellence to Hendrick. Given only on rare occasions, NASCAR’s highest honor recognizes significant contributions to the sport.


Don Schumacher owns 11 NHRA drag racing championships and 196 event-winning titles. As a pioneering Plymouth Funny Car driver from 1968 to 1974, he won five NHRA national events, nine IHRA events, and the prestigious 1970 U.S. Nationals. In 1972, Schumacher won the Coca-Cola Cavalcade of Stars Championship for Funny Cars. He also won the 1973 American Hot Rod Association World Championship. Don’s son, Tony, began racing NHRA sportsman cars in the early 1990s. In 1998, Don Schumacher Racing was assembled with Tony as one of seven drivers. The pioneer of Funny Car Racing guided two of his teams – Antron Brown in Top Fuel and Jack Beckman in Funny Car – to 2012 NHRA world championships. In 2007, Don was inducted into the Drag Racing Hall of Fame.

An International Motorsports Hall of Fame induction is one of the greatest crowning achievements in motorsports. We hope you can join us for this joyous occasion. Make sure to stop by the IMHOF to relive memories of the past.

Again, individual tickets are $125, while a table for eight may be purchased for $1,000 by calling 256-315-4725. VISA, MasterCard and Discover are accepted. For additional information on the International Motorsports Hall of Fame call 256-362-5002.

Skip to content