Published: July 26, 2001

 Jackie Ickx, the only six-time winner of LeMans, heads a group of 21 individuals who have been named as finalists to be inducted into the International Motorsports Hall of Fame next year.

In the next six weeks, an international panel of voting motorsports media will select from this list the six inductees who will be honored on April 4, 2002. The new inductees will be announced in late October or early November.

Ickx was the leading vote-getter in the diverse group that includes drivers, owners and mechanics, as well as a pilot and a multi-record holder. The group consists of representatives of Indy Cars, Formula 1, stock cars, sprint cars, sports cars, midgets, airplanes and record runs.

Listed below are the 21 finalists in alphabetical order:

    – Cannonball Baker – World Record Holder, NASCAR Commissioner
    – Ettore Bugatti – 4,000 wins as car builder in 1920’s and ‘30’s
    – Red Byron – First NASCAR champion, Modifieds and GN.
    – Briggs Cunningham – Sports car builder, patron
    – Ray Fox – Stock car builder and crew chief
    – Janet Guthrie – Sports car, Indy car, stock car driver
    – Ray Hendrick – 500 wins in NASCAR modifieds, LM sportsman cars
    – Ted Horn – Three-time champion in Indy Cars
    – Denis Hulme – Formula 1/CanAm driver
    – Jackie Ickx – Road Racing/Formula 1 driver
    – Jack Ingram – Five-time Busch Grand National champion
    – Mel Kenyon – Seven titles in USAC Midgets
    – Alan Kulwicki – ASA, Winston Cup champion
    – Jan Opperman – Sprint Car, Midget driver
    – Cotton Owens – Stock car driver/car builder
    – Maurice Petty – Crew chief/engine builder for brother Richard
    – Tim Richmond – Raced Indy/Winston Cup
    – A. J. Watson – Indy car mechanic, car builder
    – Glen Wood – NASCAR driver, car builder & owner
    – LeeRoy Yarbrough – Stock car driver
    – Chuck Yeager – Test Pilot, set world air speed records

Tickets for the induction ceremony and dinner may be obtained by calling the Hall of Fame offices at 256/362-5002. Information can also be obtained at www.motorsportshalloffame.com.  

Skip to content