IMHOF Announces Induction Class for 2011
Published: January 12, 2011

    The Board of Directors of the International Motorsports Hall of Fame are excited to announce the 2011 Class of Inductees on Wednesday, January 12 at the Wynfrey Hotel in Birmingham, Alabama.

    The five inductees represent multiple forms of racing ranging from stock-car, Can-Am, sprint, and open-wheel. The Inductees, determined by a panel of 125 international motorsport media that will be enshrined to the Hall of Fame on Thursday, April 14, 2011 are: John Holman, Jan Opperman, Maurice Petty, Brian Redman, and Rex White. This year’s votes were tallied by Letson & Associates in Hoover, AL.

    “Congratulations to these exceptional motorsports legends that make up the 20th Anniversary Class of Inductees, “said IMHOF Executive Director Grant Lynch. “This year’s class consists of world-wide talent, what they have accomplished is in fact amazing and they are true pioneers in motorsports history.”

About the 2011 Induction Class:

John Holman (1918-1975): One half of one of the most successful NASCAR owners, John Holman was partners with Ralph Moody, who formed one of the most successful NASCAR teams, Holman-Moody. One of the first teams to build “purpose-built” stock car racing chassis, Holman-Moody cars won 2 NASCAR Championships and 96 races with over 30 drives including numerous IMHOF inducted drivers and crew-chiefs.

Jan Opperman (1939-1997): From the sprint car world, Jan Opperman is known to many as one of the original “outlaw” drivers before the development of the World of Outlaw series. Not one to run for points or championship, Opperman would travel the country driving many tracks and different sanctioning body. One of his most prestigious wins would come in 1976; Opperman won the Hulman Classic at Terre Haute, IN which at the time featured many top sprint car drivers in the country and had several drivers in the field who would start the Indianapolis 500. He would also race twice in the Indianapolis 500 in 1974 and 1976.

Maurice Petty (1939 – ): Part of the famed Petty family, Maurice Petty is best known as the chief engine builder for Petty Enterprises. With Dale Inman turning wrenches and Maurice Petty providing horsepower, Richard Petty drove to 200 NASCAR victories during Maurice’s career. Petty also competed in a total of 26 NASCAR sanctioned races between 1960 and 1964, with a high of nine in 1961. He scored seven top-five finishes and 16 top 10s, with a best showing of third in 1961.

Brian Redman (1937 – ): Driving both Formula One and CAN-AM during his career, Brian Redman has driven for several championship teams as well as multiple types of cars ranging from open-wheel F1 cars to CAN-Am sports cars. Redman drove 15 points races in F1 as well as numerous times at the famed 24 Hours of LeMans. Redman continues to race in historic and vintage races as well as promoting these forms of motorsports.

Rex White (1929 – ): One of NASCAR’s 50 Greatest Drivers, the 1960 NASCAR Sprint Cup Champion was one of the original members of Chevrolet’s NASCAR racing team. White would win 28 races, record 163 top ten finishes and qualify for 36 pole positions with 233 starts. Driving mostly General Motors products during his career, White would not only win the 1960 NASCAR Championship but also win the Most Popular Driver award as well as the Driver of the Year award.

About the International Motorsports Hall of Fame & Museum

    Opened in April of 1983, the International Motorsports Hall of Fame and Museum is dedicated to the preservation of the history of motorsports. The International Motorsports Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony is held on the grounds of the museum to honor those men and women chosen for induction from among the greatest names in all of motorsports. The 2011 ceremony will be held on Thursday, April 14, 2011, at the SPEED Channel Dome, at the International Motorsports Hall of Fame. This black-tie ceremony consists of a reception, banquet and awards ceremony. Individual tickets are $125 and a table for eight may be purchased for $1000 by calling 256-315-4631 Visa, MasterCard and Discover are accepted.

Skip to content